A Dress for Me-Washi Dress

So I usually don’t sew stuff for myself, but we needed to go to a memorial service and while I really do just get a kick out of shopping for myself (note the sarcasm), I decided to try and make something for me.

The pattern is the Washi Dress by Rae. I did the conversion for a maxi length, but didn’t have to do any of the bust adjustments. I found this dress actually really easy to make. Rae does an amazing job of including video tutorials, and great pics/wording so you know exactly what you’re doing. I really love all the patterns I have of hers, she does a great job with the PDF drafting and layout. Well worth the money. The dress is also lined 3/4 of the way since I didn’t want to be flashing to whole group but didn’t want the bulk of it being fully lined.

The fabric I used was a plain black Kona cotton for the outer, and cotton black voile for the lining. I bought my fabric at Hart’s Fabric up in Santa Cruz, which is a huge fabric store with bolts and bolts of lots of different types of fabric. I ended up doing the notch at the bust as well since the dress was so plain being just black.

This pattern definitely let me hone my skills at making clothing, as this is the first thing I’ve made for me since I was in high school. My husband helped me mark the hem, and was a great help since we actually don’t own any floor length mirrors.

I don’t have any pictures of the day of, except for some group shots at the memorial where I was holding other people’s babies (mine were with the inlaws), but here are some photos taken before we went.

 

Leave a Reply

