Sis Boom Marissa Dress-red, white and blue

I *try* and make my kiddos something for each “holiday”, lately I’ve been slacking so I jumped on the chance when my daughter said she wanted a Fourth of July dress. I have the Sis Boom Marissa pattern, and it looked easy enough so I dove right in. The pattern pieces were very easy to cut out, only 4 actual pieces and then cutting the rectangles for the dress portion according to the size and length you need. The instructions were simple and easy to follow. The dress sewed up in just a short time, which was nice because I usually don’t have a lot of time to sew these days. I used double fold bias tape on the hem for 2 reasons. 1) I had it on hand from the Camp Stitch-a-lot bag and 2) I loath hemming things that are circular. I’m a very lazy sewist. The dress ended up slightly big for my daughter, most likely because she’s a short 3yo and the bodice was a little big, but she’ll be able to wear it for a while, but it wasn’t so big that she was swimming in it. Another modification I did was used a shorter zipper, which ended up being nice, she could unzip and zip it up herself.

I ended up not having time to make my son anything, but I did do a quick star onesie that I used a star cookie cutter to stamp red and blue stars onto a white onesie. Super easy and being 18 months he really could care less!

Leave a Reply

